Auschwitz Foundation - Award Ceremony of the Auschwitz Foundation Prizes, 28 November 2023

The Annual Award Ceremony of the Auschwitz Foundation Prizes 2022-2023 will take place at the Brussels City Hall on Tuesday 28 November at 6 PM.

pfaThe Auschwitz Foundation Prizes are awarded annually to two high-level academic works in honour of all victims of the Nazi concentration camps and extermination centres.

The Auschwitz Foundation Prizes have been granted for the academic year 2022-2023 to the following researchers:

  • The ‘Auschwitz Foundation Prize’ (€3,125) to Ms Violaine BARADUC for her work entitled Violences d’un autre genre. Ethnographier les mémoires criminelles des prisonnières génocidaires du Rwanda, thèse de doctorat en anthropologie sociale, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales / École doctorale de l’EHESS / Institut des mondes africains, Paris, 2022.

  • The ‘Auschwitz Foundation – Jacques Rozenberg Prize’ (€3,125) to Mr Christophe BUSCH for his work entitled Picturing perpetration: The Holocaust seen through “the image as message”, doctoral thesis externally prepared, Universiteit van Amsterdam, 2022.

  •  The ‘Research grant from the Auschwitz Foundation’ (€3,125)  to Ms Mélina BURLAUD for her doctoral thesis project entitled La musique au camp de Gurs : 1939-1944, Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour, Collège Sciences Sociales et Humanités, Laboratoire de recherche ITEM (Identité, territoires, expressions, mobilités) / en cotutelle avec l’Université d’Oldenburg, Institut für Musik, Kulturgeschichte der Musik.

  • The ‘Research grant from the Auschwitz Foundation – Jacques Rozenberg’ (€3,125)  to Mr Tadek MARKIEWICZ for his research project entitled Christ Among Nations: Holocaust as a source of Poland's unease, Postdoctoral fellow at the Hugo Valentin Center at the University of Uppsala, Sweden.

The academic session for the presentation of the Auschwitz Foundation 2022-2023 Prizes, will take place on Tuesday 28 November 2023 at 6 PM in the Gothic Room of Brussels City Hall, hosted by:

  • Mr Philippe CLOSE, Mayor of the City of Brussels, and by the Council of Aldermen of the City of Brussels
  • Mr Henri GOLDBERG, President, and by the Board of Directors of Remembrance of Auschwitz

and will be honoured by the presence of :

  • Mr Thomas DERMINE, State Secretary for Economic Recovery and Strategic Investments, in charge of Science Policy, added to the Minister of the Economy and Employment
  • Mr Pieter Jan KLEIWEG de ZWAAN, Ambassador of the Netherlands to Belgium.
  • Mr François SÉNÉMAUD, Ambassador of France to Belgium

To attend the academic session, prior registration is required (mentioning name, position and e-mail address), to be sent to Daniel Weyssow


Auschwitz Foundation – Remembrance of Auschwitz
Rue aux Laines 17 box 50 – B-1000 Brussels
   +32 (0)2 512 79 98
BCE/KBO Auschwitz Foundation: 0876787354
BCE/KBO Remembrance of Auschwitz: 0420667323

Office open from Monday to Friday  9:30am to 4:30pm.
Visit only by appointment.

fbytininstagram logo

Become a member

To become a member of Remembrance of Auschwitz ASBL, take part in its activities and support its actions, please contact us.
Membership costs €40.00, payable to account n° 310-0780517-44 (IBAN : BE55 3100 7805 1744 – BIC : BBRUBEBB)
Donations of more than €40.00 qualify for a tax exemption for Belgian tax-payers.



to our newsletter in English

I agree with the Privacy policy
The website of the Remembrance of Auschwitz and the Auschwitz Foundation uses cookies to help you navigate efficiently and perform certain functions. By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies.