Auschwitz Foundation - Award Ceremony of the Auschwitz Foundation Prizes, 9 November 2022

The Annual Award Ceremony of the Auschwitz Foundation Prizes 2021-2022 will take place at the Brussels City Hall on Wednesday 9 November at 6 PM.

The Auschwitz Foundation Prizes are awarded annually to two high-level academic works in honour of all victims of the Nazi concentration camps and extermination centres.

The Auschwitz Foundation Prizes have been granted for the academic year 2021-2022 to the following researchers:

  • The ‘Auschwitz Foundation Prize’ (€3,125) to Ms Ines ZAHRA for her work entitled « Ô Dieu jusques à quand ? » Penser, représenter, élaborer le traumatisme des guerres de Religion dans la tragédie française de 1562 à 1610, thèse de doctorat en Arts du spectacle, Université Paris Nanterre, 2021.

  • The ‘Auschwitz Foundation – Jacques Rozenberg Prize’ (€3,125) to Ms Susanne BARTH for her work entitled The Oberschlesische Hydrierwerke AG and the Auschwitz Subcamp Blechhammer, 1939-1945, Dissertation submitted to the Faculty of the Humanities and Social Sciences at the Carl-von-Ossietzky University of Oldenburg, Germany, 2020.

  •  A ‘Special Jury Prize’ (€3,125)  to Mr Rudy RIGAUT for his work entitled « JUIFS » dans la zone littorale du Nord et du Pas-de-Calais du début du XIXe siècle à la fin des années 2010, thèse de doctorat en histoire, École doctorale Sciences de l’homme et de la société (SHS) Lille, Université d’Artois (Arras), 2020.

  • The ‘Research grant from the Auschwitz Foundation’ (€3,125)  to Mr Benjamin NDJAMA for his documentary project entitled Le génocide Rwandais on how the memory of the genocide is transmitted and communicated to the younger generations. The author of the project is a student in the Master's programme in African Studies at the ULB.

The academic session for the presentation of the Auschwitz Foundation 2021-2022 Prizes, will take place on Wednesday 9 November 2022 at 6 PM in the Gothic Room of Brussels City Hall, hosted by:

  • Mr Philippe CLOSE, Mayor of the City of Brussels, and by the Council of Aldermen of the City of Brussels
  • Mr Henri GOLDBERG, President, and by the Board of Directors of Remembrance of Auschwitz

and will be honoured by the presence of :

  • Mr Xavier LEPOIVRE, Deputy Head of Cabinet of Mr Thomas DERMINE, State Secretary for Economic Recovery and Strategic Investments, in charge of Science Policy, added to the Minister of the Economy and Employment
  • Mr Martin KOTTHAUS, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to Belgium.
  • Mr François SÉNÉMAUD, Ambassador of France to Belgium

To attend the academic session, prior registration is required (mentioning name, position and e-mail address), to be sent to Daniel Weyssow


Auschwitz Foundation – Remembrance of Auschwitz
Rue aux Laines 17 box 50 – B-1000 Brussels
   +32 (0)2 512 79 98
BCE/KBO Auschwitz Foundation: 0876787354
BCE/KBO Remembrance of Auschwitz: 0420667323

Office open from Monday to Friday  9:30am to 4:30pm.
Visit only by appointment.

fbytininstagram logo

Become a member

To become a member of Remembrance of Auschwitz ASBL, take part in its activities and support its actions, please contact us.
Membership costs €40.00, payable to account n° 310-0780517-44 (IBAN : BE55 3100 7805 1744 – BIC : BBRUBEBB)
Donations of more than €40.00 qualify for a tax exemption for Belgian tax-payers.



to our newsletter in English

I agree with the Privacy policy
The website of the Remembrance of Auschwitz and the Auschwitz Foundation uses cookies to help you navigate efficiently and perform certain functions. By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies.